Local News

EP Councils Eligible for Funding under Drought Communities Programme


Up to 6 drought-affected councils on the Eyre Peninsula are eligible to apply for up to $1 million each under the Drought Communities Programme.

The program, designed to help fund council projects that stimulate their local economy, is now open for applications.

Minister for Drought David Littleproud says the program delivers more business for suppliers like local hardware stores and more jobs for their communities and this funding will get projects off the ground sooner so drought-hit communities get the boost they need.

The drought funding has been made available to 128 drought-affected communities across the county with more than 300 projects already funded, such as potable water supplies, tourist attractions, and community events, and employed drought support officers.

Among the list of eligible councils on the EP: Kimba, Streaky Bay, Ceduna, Cleve, Wudinna and the Franklin Harbour.




Image credit:https://www.standard.net.au