2019 Melbourne cup form guide

MELBOURNE CUP speedway

The Melbourne Cup is Australia's most prestigious annual thoroughbred horse race where everyone stops to pay attention.

WHEN IT'S ON?

Tuesday November 5

WHERE:

Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria

DISTANCE:

3200m

RACE START TIME:

The Melbourne Cup race begins at 3pm AEST.

Brisbane time: 2pm

Adelaide time: 2.30pm

Perth time: 12pm

WHAT IS THE PRIZE MONEY?

The total prize money for the 2019 Melbourne Cup is $8 million, plus trophies valued at $250,000. The first 12 past the post receive prize money, with the Cup winner earns $4.4 million, this is divided up with the trainer receiving 10 per cent, the jockey 5 per cent and the owner a whopping 85%. Second place receives 1.1 million, third $550,000, fourth $350,000, fifth $230,000, with sixth through to twelfth place earning $160,000.

WHO SHOULD I BACK?

Below you will find a free comprehensive Form Guide, everything you need to pick a winner!